Balance Doesn’t Exist

This is my last post around the lessons I’ve learned over the years. As a beginning blogger, that topic was an easy way for me to get used to sharing thoughts and ideas online. Moving forward, I’ll be more focused on current events, new technologies and marketing strategy. So, thank you for your patience in allowing me to learn by rambling.

Let me be the first to tell you that THEY are wrong. Who is they? All of the people who tell you to achieve balance in your life.

What exactly does a balanced life look like? When I imagine it, I picture 8 hours of sleep, 8 hours of work and 8 hours of social life. That’s balanced! However, my life has never looked like that and I’m betting yours hasn’t either.

Balance actually suggests that if your life doesn’t resemble the above, then you are out-of-balance and should immediately do something to correct your lifestyle. I’d like to put forth the suggestion that you stop worrying about balance and just live your life realizing that it’s a juggling act.

Yes, I said a juggling act. One day you may actually get the needed 8 hours sleep, but your work day may extend to 10 hours, which means your social life is shorted. On another day, sleep may only get 5 hours with work hours staying at 10, which means you’re having more social time.

It’s important to realize that you cannot be 100% at everything at all times. You cannot be the perfect parent, the perfect employee and take care of yourself the way you should every day. Some days your children, spouse or significant other may require more of your time. Other days work calls out for you to dedicate more hours at the office to accomplish your work goals. Then there are days where you are so stressed that going to the gym is actually the best thing you can do for everyone.

Another thing that always confuses me is that people will tell you to leave your personal life at the door when you get to work. And, your spouse may tell you not to bring your work frustrations home. At some point the separation between work and home disappeared. Maybe it was email, maybe it was Smartphones. Whatever the reason, today there is no separation of office and home. We seem to be unable to disconnect and our life has just become our life. Home and work boundaries have blurred. 

What does all of this mean? I don’t know what it means for you, but for me it just means constant adjustment – juggling. Prioritizing and spending my time in the area where it is most needed, when it is most needed. It’s learning to pick and choose and then funnel time and energy to the parts of my life that need the most attention each day. I’ve given up on balance, but trying to be the best juggler I can be.

Happy juggling!

About Debbie Simpson

President of Multi-Craft in Newport, Kentucky.
This entry was posted in Ideas In Motion, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

