Knowledge

I just returned from a Leadership and Management Conference for our industry. I always dread taking a few days away from work to attend any conference. I think most of us feel that the time away from the office means we have to work longer hours upon our return to catch up. I’m no different.

However, this year’s conference did not disappoint and made working longer hours yesterday and today very worthwhile. It’s always nice to see industry friends I haven’t seen since last year and have spirited discussions on business, the world and, in particular, on marketing trends.

Some of the agenda items for the conference were:

  • Marketing trends
  • Importance of personalization
  • Relevant messaging
  • QR Codes and mobile marketing
  • Personal URL campaigns
  • Marketing strategy
  • Integrated marketing
  • Marketing channels

There was not one session where I didn’t leave with valuable information, but there was one comment, actually a quote, by one of the presenters that made attending this conference worth every penny and every minute – “You cannot use being busy as an excuse for not getting better.”

Wow! That hit home! I think of how often I’ve put off reading an industry publication or thought I was too busy to spend an hour on a webinar. And, then I remembered how I was even debating about not attending this year’s conference – all because I was too busy!

Right now our economy is in the tank, but all that means is that right now there are opportunities for those who are prepared to grow at the expense of those who are not prepared. Being prepared is hard work, but it is also something that is under our direct control. We decide if we want to learn and grow. We can choose to manage our time so that we take advantage of the knowledge we can gain from books, seminars, webinars and conferences.

Knowledge is a gift we can give ourselves and it is the gift that keeps on giving – it gives us opportunity! Or, I suppose, we can kick back and relax and stay exactly where we are. However, I believe that if you’re not moving forward, then you are actually going backward. I, for one, am not willing to take one step backward.

If you are looking for knowledge, then visit our website at www.multi-craft.com and click on “Resource Center”. You will find many articles on a lot of topics that are marketing-related. Enjoy!

About Debbie Simpson

President of Multi-Craft in Newport, Kentucky.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

