Bucket Lists

If you look up the definition of Bucket List, it is said to be “the list of things you want to do before you die”. As I’m death-adverse, I’ve always looked at a Bucket List as an itemized description of those experiences I want to have to enhance my life.

On my first bucket list, which I generated at the age of 18, I had three things:

  1. I wanted to own a grandfather clock.
  2. I wanted to own a rocking chair.
  3. I wanted to go to Europe.

At the age of 18, I had just graduated from high school and was working in our family printing business answering phones, keeping the books, greeting customers and selling office supplies. The year was 1969 – yes, I’m that old!

I went to Europe in 1971, after working for two years and saving the money I needed to save to make that trip possible. In 1972, I purchased a rocking chair, and spent some quality time rocking and reading. In 1975, I purchased a grandfather clock and spent many years listening to time chime away.

I don’t recall having a Bucket List after those three initial goals were met. I likely was too engaged in my young children and the busyness of working to have the time to dream. When I was getting ready to hit a milestone birthday, I started to think of things that would be fun to do. For some reason, a half-marathon popped into my head and I spent a year training with a friend and actually completed a half-marathon in May 2012. Don’t get too excited for me – I’m a walker, not a runner. But, hey, at least I did it.

That began an annual tradition where my son would ask me what I was hoping to accomplish in the coming year. One year it was a trip to Tuscany, where I dreamed I would re-create “Eat, Pray, Love”. I certainly fulfilled the eating part, went on the trip with my love (my hubby) and have always prayed. Check that one off the list.

The next year my goal was to go to Scotland and, again, mission accomplished. A fabulous trip that met every expectation I had – and I’ve hit my goal of castle tours for the rest of my life! And, that same year I had a desire to learn how to professionally decorate cakes. Thank goodness for the Midwest Culinary Institute and their classes on Cake Decorating. I can now make a killer birthday cake.

That year was followed by a crazy desire to go zip lining and hot air ballooning which were both checked off the list. So, now here we are in 2014 and I just know my son is going to be asking me what’s on my Bucket List for 2014. And, I don’t know what to tell him.

I don’t have any desire to sky dive or drive a race car. I’ve always wanted to play the piano, so that might make the list and I’ve been thinking an Alaskan cruise could be fun. But, with the below-zero temperatures we’ve been experiencing here in the Greater Cincinnati Northern Kentucky area, I’m not too excited about snow and cold right now. So, I’ll be thinking over the next few weeks of places to go, things to do and people to meet. I certainly don’t want my son to think that his dear old mother has lost her get-up-and-go!

What’s on your agenda for 2014? Are you looking to start a business, find a new job, get a promotion, start your family, play in a rock band or take an adventure vacation? Are you taking the time to dream of all of the “what-could-be’s” or “I’ve-always-wanted-to-do’s”? I hope you take the time to dream a little, and set some goals of things you want to experience or accomplish. Happy New Year!

About Debbie Simpson

President of Multi-Craft in Newport, Kentucky.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bucket Lists

  1. Pingback: Bucket List … Sort Of | Happy Holly Project

Leave a Reply

