Internet Overload

The internet is a beautiful thing. We can Google anything our heart desires and be inundated with articles, pictures, charts, graphs, quotes and on and on and on for the item we searched.

It’s great how we can search for “Bohemian Rhapsody” and immediately have the lyrics displayed. But, sometimes I find myself frustrated more than delighted.

Today, I wanted to purchase a 36” round small conference table. I have now wasted several hours trying to find something that either doesn’t exist, or exists under a search term I am unaware of. So, I have decided to comprise and purchase something that isn’t what I want, but will suffice.

At this point, I actually believe I could have left my office, visited a few stores, found something that would satisfy my requirements, purchased it and had it in my office in the time I have spent searching online. More is not always better. In fact, more can actually cause overload. Too many choices can be overwhelming and you just click out and stop searching because you can’t decide.

Then there were those sites that seemed to have what I wanted, but when I clicked on the item, sometimes nothing happened (broken link), or it would take me to a different item entirely. I quickly left those sites out of sheer frustration.

How do visitors feel about your website? Websites can either be a valuable tool for your organization, or they can be a roadblock and headache to your customers and prospects. Do you make it easy for them to interact and do business with you?

  • Image matters and your website may be the first impression that people have of your organization. It should accurately portray who you are and be consistent with your brand.
  • Make it easy to navigate, and easy to get back to your home page.
  • Provide links to other sites they may find helpful.
  • Insure your contact information is displayed on each page of your website.
  • Short paragraphs, subheads, bullet points are all great ways to keep their attention and not overwhelm them with too much copy.
  • Find a way to engage visitors through video demonstrations, helpful tools, articles or white papers.
  • Make your website logical to visitors.

Customers and prospects expect you to have a website – it’s your front door. Make sure it is always open to them.

 

About Debbie Simpson

President of Multi-Craft in Newport, Kentucky.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

