‘Tis the Season . . .

I don’t know about you, but when Christmas decorations began appearing in the stores during October, I figured I would be in Christmas overload by now. But, no, I’m still feeling the spirit. Or, as a colleague asked yesterday, “is the bell still ringing for you?”

His question was taken from “The Polar Express” and the exact phrase is as follows.

At one time, most of my friends could hear the bell, but as years passed, it fell silent for all of them. Even Sarah found one Christmas that she could no longer hear its sweet sound. Though I’ve grown old, the bell still rings for me, as it does for all who truly believe.”

Even as an adult, this season holds so much meaning for me. My personal belief is that Jesus Christ was born today, which makes the day really important. But, even if you don’t hold the same belief, the Christmas season seems to be magical.

Maybe it’s the decorations, lights, tree, brightly wrapped gifts, holiday dinners with family and friends or Santa Claus sitting patiently while children are plopped in his lap to divulge their deepest desires.

Maybe it’s the smell of Christmas cookies baking or a kiss snuck under the mistletoe. Or, it could be the opportunity to ring the bell for others less fortunate that are supported by The Salvation Army. Christmas carols, the smell of pine needles and for those of us further north, the beauty of snow-covered trees and hillsides.

Candle-lit church services, velvet dresses and patent leather shoes, a red silk scarf wrapped around your neck or the opportunity to watch an old Christmas movie all evoke feelings of joy.

A friend was so excited earlier this week because the person in line ahead of him at Starbuck’s generously paid for his coffee. People seem to be more generous this time of year. No matter how little we may have, we realize that we have more than many around us. It’s a season of hope and a season of believing.

You may not share my religious beliefs, or believe that there really is a Santa, but I’m hoping that you are feeling the magic. This season makes me believe in people and in a better future. Maybe it’s because New Years is coming, which is a time of reflection and resolutions – a time for a new beginning.

Whatever the reason, I love this season! Yes, the bell still rings for me and my hope is that it still rings for you! I wish you all a Merry Christmas, Happy Hannukah, or Happy Kwanzaa.  May you be surrounded by love, peace and joy during this season!

About Debbie Simpson

President of Multi-Craft in Newport, Kentucky.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

