Summer Delight!

I love summer! I enjoy the longer days, thanks to daylight savings time. I am delighted by the feel of the warmth and sun on my skin and the slower pace that seems to accompany this season.

When I think of summer, some things just automatically come to mind:

  • Flags, for the 4th of July
  • Popsicles dripping down the hands of little ones as they struggle to keep up with the melting juices
  • Picnics
  • Outdoor concerts
  • Fireworks
  • Boats on the water
  • Sand between the toes
  • Vacations – a time for regenerating our minds, bodies and spirits

Sometimes it feels like you work twice as hard the week before you leave on vacation and then work twice as hard the week after you come back, just to catch up. And, while that’s probably true, unless you have someone who can step in and take care of your work while you’re gone, that week of fun is needed so you can return refreshed and ready for new challenges.

I always look forward to my summer week at the beach with my children, grandchildren and father. We have four generations of my family all in one place for one entire week. There are no schedules, catch-as-you-can meals, little ones bedtime schedules in disarray, wet footprints through the house, evening games and, of course, lots of sand everywhere.

To watch my grandchildren experience the ocean for the first time and get that first taste of salt water in their mouths, was a joy. To see my children laughing together and enjoying the fact that the grandparents and great-grandparents are there to give them a little break also, brings happiness to my heart.

I hope you have a vacation planned so you can enjoy the dog days of summer and refresh your mind, body and spirit!

About Debbie Simpson

President of Multi-Craft in Newport, Kentucky.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

